BootDisk Imaging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2008, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hawaiian style's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to hawaiian style
Default BootDisk Imaging

Ok, I decided to go with a working link, austrumi. Problem is, there isint exactly a read me for this situation... and I have only done this 2 or 3 times, not yet got it memorized. Anyone want to help me out?
__________________

__________________
Consistent learning is key
hawaiian style is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 02:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BootDisk Imaging

What are you trying to do. Make a image of your hard drive? Using XP or Vista? Ghost or Acronis?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hawaiian style's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to hawaiian style
Default Re: BootDisk Imaging

I basically need to copy everything on my hard drive, copy it, and put it on another computer. My friends previous harddrive crashed and we basically have the same files because we work in the same station.

and it is for windows XP. Im not to sure what you mean about your 3rd question though..
__________________
Consistent learning is key
hawaiian style is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BootDisk Imaging

Well you do know that this wont work right? I mean you are trying to image your drive and put it on another PC. First that is illegal. 2nd it will give you nothing but grief.

Let me explain.

It is illegal cause that would mean there would be 2 copies of XP with the same serial activated. This violates the Terms and Service and EULA of XP.

It will give you nothign but grief cause the hardware profile will not match and you will end up doing more repairs to the PC then it running right off the bat. You will use this "image" and put it on his PC and then there will be errors like hal.dll missing then so more. Finally you will be asking how to fix all these errors and the first response will be to do a repair isntall with the CD. Since that is the case you might as well go ahead and use the CD and just do a fresh isntall and avoid this whole situation.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free open source imaging software servo.tsc Microsoft Windows and Software 6 01-09-2008 09:26 PM
Help! Hard drive imaging Screamsalvation Microsoft Windows and Software 9 11-15-2007 01:19 AM
Imaging problem/Duplicate computer names - TheeOx Microsoft Windows and Software 13 08-26-2007 11:12 PM
Imaging hard drive.. biscuiteater Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-13-2007 12:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.