Bootable USB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Bootable USB

I have seen tutorials on making a USB drive bootable, and I always thought it was interesting. I tried it the other night and failed every time

I can't remember which tutorials I tried out, so sorry for not giving references to check upon. But I used the hp bootable usb program (don't remember the name), and a windows 98 startup disk (I don't have a floppy drive, I got the image file online). I formatted and then copied the files needed to boot, but every time I got the message "ntldr missing". I checked every time and it was there.

The only thing I can think of is that in the boot.ini file or any of the boot reference files I found, it specifically refers to the A: drive, and I couldn't think of what to rename it to, because the drive letter will vary depending on what computer is used. Anyone have a straightforward tutorial or tips to get this working?

Thanks.


P.S.
I did change the boot order, so don't ask. I have a 2 gig drive, and tried formatting it in fat16 and 32.
__________________

__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: Bootable USB

You need to actually install the o/s on to your flash drive. You can't just copy the files. Just boot off the install cd with your flash drive in and choose it as the drive to install on.

Unfortunately, 2gb is barely enough, actually it might not be enough space.

The best choice would be to install BartPE to your flash drive. I have done it successfully before. Follow the instructions EXACTLY as they are here: http://www.collewijn.info/xpe/page/pe2usb.php


this might be easier, but i haven't tried it this way: GoCoding.Com - PeToUSB - Boot BartPE From USB
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Bootable USB

simple question...
is that device boot capable?

edit: following link may or may not help you

Verifying Bootable Devices
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Bootable USB

Quote:
You need to actually install the o/s on to your flash drive
I'm talking about having a bootable usb drive instead of using a floppy disk, because I don't have a floppy drive, and floppies are just terrible to begin with. I'm actually wanting it so I can flash my gpu bios', and later put some recovery tools and whatnot on it.


Atomic tofu, I'll have to try out that link when I get home. I guess I never thought it wouldn't be bootable. Hmm. I'll get back to you haha.

Thanks for the replies guys
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bootable USB

Some systems just can boot from the USB Flash drives. Other can. It all depends on your system. Plus you ahve to check with the BIOS flash utility. Some only allow to be put on Floppies. Not flash drives. If you try to put it on a flash drive it errors out.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Bootable USB

USB XP

Code:
Windows.XP.USB.Stick.Edition
60MB Compress
152MB UnCompress
No Pass
Ever want to boot up 
into Windows XP via a USB memory key?
Well, now you can.
This is a miniature version of 
Win XP
Just enough to get your up and running
so you can restore from backup,
access your
 files, or do whatever you have to do.
Also go to your BIOS setting and change the BOOT 
sequence. Removable drive or 
something should be at the top then try to reboot your PC.

Installation guidance: start "LiveXP.bat" it starts a Installationsscript, 
in which data 
must be given the SOURCE path (INSTADLLDIR) and the goal drive assembly. 
After a few minutes
 the stick is then finished.
in english

start the livexp.bat and give two parameters to it.
first parameter is where the files are, the second is there you want to install it.
e.g.
livexp c:\temp\Windows.XP.USB.Stick.Edition\Windows.XP.US B.Stick.Edition\INSTALLDIR

then i:\

if I is the usb drive

you can change settings, format as needed, etc. by following the instructions as necessary.
to install it finally, choose menu item 5, then menu item 1.
let it finish, then choose menu item 5 and menu item 2.
done.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Bootable USB

Atomic Tofu,
I was going to try your link. But apparently you need some feature pack thing from M$, and I don't want to download a huge iso for one file that is about 200Kb or less. I didn't the see usbntd.chk file available by itself anywhere.

My mobo says it can boot from a usb. I haven't tried another stick, but I've concluded that my usb stick or my mobo is a piece of crap. Meh.

From what I understand you can only flash your gpu bios the floppy/usb way. Is that true, or are there any other workarounds?



Thanks for all the replies guys, I appreciate it


P.S.
Thanks for the link Eric, but I'm just trying to make a bootable dos "floppy". I don't want xp on my usb stick, it has the crappiest read/write speeds so I'd never want to run xp on it haha.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Bootable USB

i can flash mine by downloading a win app...execute, it automates....flash done

the beauty of forward tech, courtesy of Intel for my 975xbx mobo
I feel for you guys and the companies that do the cave man flashing still
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Bootable USB

So it's exclusive to your board? I've used winflash for my mobo bios, but whenever I've looked into flashing a gpu all that comes up is booting from dos off of a floppy. I'd be all for flashing in windows if it would work.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Bootable USB

some boards have apps that can do it in windows, other in dos
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB 3.0 Announced kurtowns Off Topic Discussion 19 03-07-2008 07:53 PM
usb mice randomly die by port. running out of ports! drewjustforyou Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-01-2007 03:27 AM
Usb 3.0 djmaddogfreak New Technology and Products 1 09-21-2007 02:40 AM
My main board cant recognise USB hubs...?! anthegreat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-20-2007 03:59 PM
USB Flash Drive with Capacity Meter veg1992 Off Topic Discussion 5 09-12-2007 05:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.