Boot Traps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Angry Boot Traps

Hello everyone, First I am new to this forum so I apologize if I put this topic in the wrong area.

Here it goes:

I used to run NT 4.0 fine on an old server box. Recently it decided to go bad as in not booting. I am trying to install windows 2000 (don't laugh but my 3d program is old and uses it). So I have tried doing a fresh install with 2000 and nothing. I have already received 2 separate trap warnings from 2 different scenarios during initial BIOS sequences. I do not know if my motherboard is bad, Maybe RAM, Maybe Video Card, or Maybe hard drive. Everything checks out in the initial boot sequence fine. I have never seen this before and I have put OS on systems before. Any Ideas? Also is there a legend that explains all of this somewhere on the net.,,, so I don’t have top bother all of you.

Thanks!!!

Here are the trap messages:

Trap: 0000006*****Exception*****
Tr=0040
Cr0=00000011
Cr2=000000
Cr3=000000

gdt limy:=01023 base=00017000 idt limy=02047 base=000174000

cs:eip=0008:000a000 ss:esp=0016:00070018 errcode=0000

flags=00010086 NoCy NoZr IntDis Down TrapDis

eax=0000000 ebx=0035a8f4 ecx=0000060d edx=fff00001 ds=0016 es=0000
edi=0035a993 esi=0000000 ebp=0000000 cr0=00000011 fs=0048 gs=0000
__________________

Pdxpeter is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

what brand is the HDD? You should download a diagnostic tool from their website and run it. You can fit it onto a floppy and boot off of it.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default

It ia an old Quantum Bigfoot Ts
Pdxpeter is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

memtest will test your ram for you.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

You can google the trap messages and it'll give you the info you're looking for, I would and read them for you, but there are to many for my time.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.