boot timeout - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default boot timeout

OK so I've chosen to use StyleXP as my modifier. I've chosen an alternate bootup logo and I now have the boot timeout screen show up at startup (the thing that usually asks you which operating system to boot up with... 30 seconds, 29, 28, 27, etc.) Well this time it says something along the lines of

BOOT USING ORIGINAL BOOT SCREEN
BOOT USING ALTERNATE BOOT SCREEN

Not exact wording but you get the idea. The only thing I can do is reduce the timeout to 3 seconds so the screen is quickly eliminated, but this also adds 3 seconds onto my bootup time, plus I don't like the screen. Is there any way I can totally eliminate this screen and have myu computer automatically boot up to the custom boot up logo screen?
__________________

X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

look in msconfig in the boot.ini maybe?
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 11:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

nvm I figured out how to get rid of it. I have like 3 boot.ini files for some reason but I set the timeout period to 0 in the file BOOT file in the root C drive
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 11:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

cool.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.