Boot Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Boot Problems

My computer just randomly restarted on Friday around 10PM and it won't boot anymore. It detects everything, but it just stops while trying to load from the harddrive. It doesn't do anything but just stay there on the screen. At first I thought it was the virus I was IMed with I accidently clicked(Mozilla asked me to download, I clicked no, then Norton Anti-virus caught it, even though I tried not to download it), but I decided it couldn't be that since it was caught by Norton Anti-Virus. But on my BIOs, everything under the BOOT tab seems to be gone, nothing there, it used to have harddrives and CD options there. Since the motherboard's been out of stores forever, I ordered a new one. Anyways, could this have been a virus? Should I format my old drive before installing my new motherboard? Anyway to remove it?
__________________

Ska_kid is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default

Better to format your old drive. To eleminate unwanted files like the installed drivers of your old motherboard especially virus and spywares.
__________________

__________________
nomeiger.com, imactech.com, phpsifu.com
regiemon is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

does your BIOS even detect your hard drive, CD-ROM drive, and floppy drive? If not then you might have a hard time reformatiing.
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by regiemon
Better to format your old drive. To eleminate unwanted files like the installed drivers of your old motherboard especially virus and spywares.
That's what I'm planning, but I'm hoping I don't have to format my old slave drive. I have some stuff I want to save. Also, my motherboard does detect them, it just won't boot. I just wanted to know if there was a recent virus or something that's been destroying BIOS. Otherwise, I might not need to format at all because I'm pretty sure my old computer(built from an old motherboard a company was throwing out) would do something like this.
Ska_kid is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default

Did you try running it in safe mode?
__________________
nomeiger.com, imactech.com, phpsifu.com
regiemon is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by regiemon
Did you try running it in safe mode?
Doesn't even get to the point where I can choose to.
Ska_kid is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default

Have you tried installing your windows without formating?

The best advice i could give you is to format your hard drive.
Regards to your files, if you have a friend with a computer, try backing up your files to his/her hard drive.
__________________
nomeiger.com, imactech.com, phpsifu.com
regiemon is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by regiemon
Have you tried installing your windows without formating?

The best advice i could give you is to format your hard drive.
Regards to your files, if you have a friend with a computer, try backing up your files to his/her hard drive.
Couldn't that spread a virus to their computer?
Ska_kid is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default

If your friend have a antivirus try scanning first, but viruses only trigger when you excecute them.
__________________
nomeiger.com, imactech.com, phpsifu.com
regiemon is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by regiemon
If your friend have a antivirus try scanning first, but viruses only trigger when you excecute them.
That's what I figured and I haven't done anything in the past that could have executed a virus. Were there any wurms and such recently that did what I mentioned?
__________________

Ska_kid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.