Boot Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2007, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Default Boot Problems

Ok guys, the first wrong thing I did was install Windows Vista on my system. I ended up hating it because it was slow and it slowed down my XP. In the end I decided to remove it. I tried going to XP and formatting the Vista drive from there but it didn't work.

So I tried a bunch of methods and I ended up inserting my Windows XP install Disc. Through the disc, I deleted the Vista Partition, and then I created the Hard drive again.I thought my problem was solved but as I soon found out it was not. After I did this I exited the Windows XP setup and I rebooted my PC.

Now when I first turned it on, there were three options. Onewas "Earlier Version of Windows", another was "Windows Vista", and the last one was "Windows XP installation". Of course Windows Vista did not work, but the Windows XP installation still works. Now I am scared that somebody might mess up my computer by mistake. (My brother can do something wrong by mistake)

Still my problems did not end. When I clicked on Early Version of Windows, there were two options available there. They were "Windows XP" and "Windows XP install". This time the countdown is on Windows XP install and it is 3 seconds so Windows XP can easily be installed by mistake.

So this is what I want to know. How can I configure it so that the moment I turn on my computer it boots straight into Windows XP?
__________________

ankit3000 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Well actually I do not think you need to read all of that. To make a long story short. How do I boot directly to Windows XP if I have other options? Thanks.
__________________

ankit3000 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You need to put the XP CD in and do a fixboot and fixmbr. That will get rid of the options for Vista.

After that get into XP and do this.

Start>Run>Msconfig

Boot.ini tab

check all paths and see if you can remove the Install path. If not manually edit the Boot.ini to remove the Windows Install so that you can just ahve XP.

Also what version of Vista do you haev and what are your specs? That way i can better tell you how and why Vista worked badly for you.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Do I do the fixboot and fixmbr in repair of my Windows Installation Disc

By the way, I have Windows Vista Ultimate

My specs are Intel Duo Core, 2.8 Ghz, 448 Mb Ram, ATI Radeon X200, and a DVD RW drive. Tell me if you need more information on the specifications.
ankit3000 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I see the problem already. Your RAM and Video card.

For Vista Ultimate you should at least 2 GB of RAM. Along with a great DX9 or new DX10 card. nVidia makes the only DX10 card right now. The 8800. If you update those 2 things you will be able to run Vista Ultimate easyily.

You do the fixboot and fixmbr from the recovery console.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

when you install Vista, it replaces your boot handler with a Vista specific one...
you can remove the Vista boot record with EasyBCD
in the Manage Bootloader section, there is an option that says: "uninstall the Vista Bootloader (use to restore XP)"
That should do the trick. (thanks again Makaveli, I use it often)
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Can EasyBCD remove my Early Windows Version boot problem? By that I mean that when I click Early Version of Windows 2 more options come up. Or is EasyBCD only for the Vista boot screen.
ankit3000 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

No EasyBCD can do it all for you easily.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.