Boot problem...URGENT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2005, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
Default Boot problem...URGENT

Hi,

I have a wierd problem. Whenever I boot my computer it will get to the part where the bar goes aacross the machine. I have Windows XP. Then the screen turns balck and it goes to a monitor self-test. I have repaired and reformatted my comp and the problem remains. I dont know if it is a BIOS problem or a Hardware problem. I really would like this annoyance to go away. I would seriously love to eradicate this problem. I have all updates from Microsoft.

Please help!!

Sincerly,
mbridges7718
__________________

mbridges7718 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it reads monitor self-test? is there any other error message/code?
Do you have onboard video or a card?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Just a monitor self test and thats it no error message no nothing.

I have an on board Video Card NVIDIA 128mb GeForce FX 5200G


But that is not the problem I have had the computer for 4 years and it just started doing this.
mbridges7718 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I doubt you have onboard VC with that much memory. Make sure the card is seated properly or try your onboard video.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
Default

That is just the specs and its a a Gateway it came with the card. Its not the card.
mbridges7718 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you get into safe mode?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
Default

I am using the very computer right now. I did not tell you full details sorry. The frist itme I start up I can only get past the Windows XP loading screen and end up at the Self test. If I do a restart during this I can get to Windows just fine. Do you think it is BIOS related?
mbridges7718 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I need to know if you can get into safe mode by pressing F8 when you reboot. This will happen way before you get to the loading screen. Just keep hitting it until it comes up and choose safe mode, not safe mode with networking or command prompt.
if it loads fine, do it again, and if it loads fine again, its a driver problem more than likely
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
Default

I can.
mbridges7718 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have onboard video? if so, hook it up and reboot. does it hang up? if so, its probably not your video. if you can get into windows, uninstall you video and reinstall it with updated drivers and reboot. what kind of video card do you have or onboard video?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.