Boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2005, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default Boot problem

Hi all,

I have the following problem on my PC.
two harddisks.
On the first one (master) i have one partition(C:). I installed Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition on this partion.

On the second disk (slave) I have two partitions(D:,E:). On the first partion (primary) i installed Windows Server 2003, Enterprise.

On the second partion I installed Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional.

When i start my computer.
I got the possibilty to choose from the three.

But I can only start windows 2000. The other two are not reachabale.

How can i resolve this problem.


The content of the boot.ini is als follows:
______________________________


[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(2)\WINNT="Microso ft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

signature(3d552f15)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WIN DOWS="Windows Server 2003, Enterprise" /fastdetect


_____________________________________


Thanks
__________________

Antar is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You could try booting your computer from the XP CD and enter the recovery console ("R"). Use the "fixboot" command.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

I use Partition Magic along with Boot Magic, it always seems to do the trick without any problems.

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GrayWolf
I use Partition Magic along with Boot Magic, it always seems to do the trick without any problems.

-GrayWolf

use PM. set it to hide the other two Partitions when you are on one. that what I do.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think that's the default behavior. You cannot see a partition before the active system partition unless you force it. It's still worth trying BootMagic though.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
You could try booting your computer from the XP CD and enter the recovery console ("R"). Use the "fixboot" command.

I have tried this but unfortunately it does't work. I have the same problem.

I can't start windows home edition.
Antar is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
use PM. set it to hide the other two Partitions when you are on one. that what I do.
.

Hi thanx for the tip.

About hiding the other partitions.

There is only two possibilties for hiding partitions.
One of the two partitions that i can't reach and the active one (W2000 PR).
If I hide W2000 PR could i use it again in case booting to windows home edion or windows 2003 server fails.
Antar is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

yes. Partition Mgic has a PQ boot for windows tools. you pick which partition you want to boot to. then it will restart the computer to that partition. you have to install Pm on all 3 partitions, though to use the tool
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.