Boot problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 12:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Boot problem

Ok, thought so, but I figured I'd ask before I drove home/grabbed it then came back to work xD.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 12:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Boot problem

I don't like window's repairs. they give you bsod sometimes
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 02:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Boot problem

Well I'm gonna slave the drive in another machine we have here, backup all of the data I can find, and then attempt to do the repair. I couldn't get the ERD Commander 2005 to work (may not have burned it right, or it may have been a corrupt ISO...not sure). I do have a Winternals Disk Commander utility on a multi-util boot CD (MrOtakon I believe it was), but I'm not sure if that's the same thing?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Boot problem

check your pm
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 09:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Boot problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
use erd cmmander 2005 to do system restore

System Restore will only work with ERD if its enabled in XP..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 11:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Boot problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
check your pm
Thanks, I might be able to use this at sometime.

Got it working BTW guys. Windows Repair did the job...but now I'm gonna have to call MS to activate their version of Windows, because it keeps saying that the product key is incorrect... That will be a job for Monday, though.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 12:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Boot problem

One more quick question... I just remembered this.. I think that computer had SP1 installed on it...and I used a SP2 disc to do a repair install...is that bad? Could that be why Windows didn't activate? Won't be able to work on it till after school...but I just remembered this >.<... It boots into Windows fine/says SP2 is installed, I just can't activate Windows (like I said above).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Boot problem with emachine w2828 crazyeyeskiesel2 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-17-2007 12:23 AM
Vista Boot Problem Mike9182 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-19-2007 09:15 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.