Boot options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 08:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default Boot options

Whenever i start up my computer, it stops on a boot option page, it gives me a few options, reboot normally or resume windows xp pro setup.

it automaticaly goes to the set up, which fails because the cd is not inserted. i have to manually select 'normal reboot' which is getting very anoying.

the other day i found something on my computer that asks me how my computer should reboot. i selected normal reboot and for a few weeks my computer started up without me having to selct normal boot. but now it has gone back to the screen giving me the options of what to do.

does anyone know where it was i changed this?

thanks
__________________

calem_123 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: Boot options

Quote:
Originally posted by calem_123
Whenever i start up my computer, it stops on a boot option page, it gives me a few options, reboot normally or resume windows xp pro setup.

it automaticaly goes to the set up, which fails because the cd is not inserted. i have to manually select 'normal reboot' which is getting very anoying.

the other day i found something on my computer that asks me how my computer should reboot. i selected normal reboot and for a few weeks my computer started up without me having to selct normal boot. but now it has gone back to the screen giving me the options of what to do.

does anyone know where it was i changed this?

thanks
Your system startup file should have contained improper values.
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default

what does that mean?
calem_123 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

go to start run and type in msconfig.

select the boot tab and see if there are 2 boot paths in there.

click check all boot paths and it should remove the bad one.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.