boot.ini - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default boot.ini

A friend of mine has windows 2000. Everytime his computer booted up it displayed a list of 3 windows operating systems. He didnt like this so he set Windows up to boot without asking which one to boot. This ended up in the computer booting into the wrong operating system. Now, we manged to install a second hard drive with another copy of Windows 2000 so we can fix up this problem. Now i need to edit the boot.ini file to set it to ask every time which operating system to boot from. Now, what do i put in the boot.ini file, and where is it located. Remember, i want the boot.ini file to instruct the system to display the list of operating systems all the time, not booting automatically.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Open up Windows Explorer.

Goto Tools -> Folder Options -> View
Uncheck "Hide Protected Operating System Files"

Then navigate to the root of the harddrive that has the original Win2k installation on it. (It's more than likely C:\)

Double click the file named boot or boot.ini

That file should look like this.


Code:
[Boot Loader]
Timeout=10
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(2)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Setup"
Changing the Timeout field will change the amount of time it will show the options. Setting it to 0 will make it not display.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what happens if there is no boot.ini?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

then my guess would be no operating system i guess lol. no idea probably should ask microsoft
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

of he might have hidden files set to "hidden"
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Start>setting>controlpanel>folder options. Unhide the hidden files and system files.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

thanks all
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.