Boot Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2004, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Default Boot Error

I just reinstalled winXP, and everytime I reboot it says Boot System Failure, Please insert Boot Disk.

I put my winXP disk in, and press enter and windows boots fine. It wont boot without my disk. I can't figure out why the hell its doing this. Is there an option in BIOS or something, cause i can't figure it out.


myst711 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 7

did you partition the os correctly.

because it sounds like the os is not installed fully

dadada is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 02:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23

yeah this is the 2nd time i've reformatted it, its partitioned correctly
myst711 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 02:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog

Try using the disc to fix the Master Boot Record(MBR). I am unsure as how to do this but it should be under the repair console on the disk.
chog is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Yeah i ran fixmbr and did all that, but it still is giving me the stupid boot disk error every time i reboot. This is rediculous cause it takes FOREVER to boot up cause i takes around a minute to get past the damn bios screen, just to get to the stupid boot error screen. I'm running a amd athlon 2600+ with 512corsair xms ram, on a brand new Shuttle i just bought.

Anyone have any other ideas?
myst711 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 12:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415

u do have it set to boot from the hdd in the bios rite, i kno very simple but its the simple things ppl overlook, the order should b cd-rom, floppy if u have any floppy boot disks u use and then the hdd, if the hdd isnt there its gonna give a boot error
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23

yeah i have my boot sequense set up right
myst711 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

uh... is your HDD SATA(Serial ATA)? or anything along that line? If so, you may have to reinstall again. Since you have no system stats, I can't tell
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

if the bios is taking along time to pass, try clearing NVRAM. long shot, but never know. also, try reseating the IDE cable. make sure if you do a fixmbr, clear nvram first as when the mbr is setup from a zero write (instead of a format, like low level format), the bootstrap info is passed the the MBR. so clear NVRAM, if that doesn't work, write zeroes. actually, before even that I would possibly update the bios. ALSO, do you have any drives in slave configuration? disconnect them and try again. also disconnect the secondary IDE controller from the cd drive if no slave drives are present. not saying do this permanently but it will show if there is a problem with the drive configs with the registry. ESPECIALLY since registry is taking soooo long. When it freezes for a bit what is the LAST thing shown being detected and the next thing after it gets passed it? AND is it like that EVERYTIME (as in the last and next thing detected from bios constant or does it very). Thats going to be you likely culprit, the next thing loaded that is. so clear nvram see what that does. either do that in bios (if supported), and if not then jumper the MBD to reset. reboot. get the date time error. shut off, set jumper BACK to normal, reboot and reset the bios. make sure HDD is set for auto, and that the jumper is set on HDD to manual. if that messes up, try setting the HDD to master, but auto SHOULD work.

If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.