Boot disk for BIOS update in Win 2K? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2003, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default Boot disk for BIOS update in Win 2K?

I need to flash the BIOS on my Asus A7N8X Deluxe rev 2 mb. I am running Win 2K Pro. Asus says I need a boot disk with only on it. Guess I'm really stupid, but I can't figure out how to make one. I tried a "format a:/s" disk from Win 98, but it won't let me access hard drive, I guess because it is NTSF. Must be the same problem if using XP. Can anyone help?


A7N8X Deluxe
AMD 2800+ Barton
Radeon 9800 OEM (not Pro)
Seagate 120Gig SATA
Maxtor 80 Gig ATA

ttuthill is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 06:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221

See if the one offered at the bottom of this page will do.

mobo is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2

Thanks Mobo and MicroBell for your replies. Looks like I have to reformat and start over. The boot disks from the site you suggested, Mobo, are either the emergency 4 disk for Win2K or there is a BIOS boot disk, but only for Win98, doesn't work for me, probably because of NTFS. The LiveUpdate program also doesn't want to work, apparently because it needs the AWDFLASH program to be installed prior to the operating system, which I admit I failed to do. Hey, I've built 4 other machines, never heard of such a step, and have done 2 other successful BIOS upgrades. I've had a lot of trouble understanding the instructions from ASUS, would be better off if I knew Chinese. At least the site you sent me to, MicroBell, had a clear explanation of how it is supposed to work, and I've bookmarked the page. There seem to be many many people in this forum alone who have had trouble setting up this mobo, which Tom's Hardware recently called Motherboard of the Year, lol.

My problem is with installing apps or loading files over 8 megs I get errors up the wazoo. ASUS now says this is because of drives that now have 8 megs of cache, that they weren't available prior to release of mobo. But that is bs, those drives are not that new, my mobo is Rev2.0, bought in August, it never should have been shipped with this faulty BIOS. So everything I've installed over 8 megs has problems, including Windows. I'm SOL. If anyone has any other ideas before I reformat, I'm waiting til I have a whole day, maybe this weekend. Thanks...

ttuthill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.