Boot disk for BIOS update in Win 2K? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2003, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default Boot disk for BIOS update in Win 2K?

I need to flash the BIOS on my Asus A7N8X Deluxe rev 2 mb. I am running Win 2K Pro. Asus says I need a boot disk with only Command.com on it. Guess I'm really stupid, but I can't figure out how to make one. I tried a "format a:/s" disk from Win 98, but it won't let me access hard drive, I guess because it is NTSF. Must be the same problem if using XP. Can anyone help?

TT

A7N8X Deluxe
AMD 2800+ Barton
Radeon 9800 OEM (not Pro)
Seagate 120Gig SATA
Maxtor 80 Gig ATA
__________________

ttuthill is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

See if the one offered at the bottom of this page will do.
__________________

mobo is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks Mobo and MicroBell for your replies. Looks like I have to reformat and start over. The boot disks from the site you suggested, Mobo, are either the emergency 4 disk for Win2K or there is a BIOS boot disk, but only for Win98, doesn't work for me, probably because of NTFS. The LiveUpdate program also doesn't want to work, apparently because it needs the AWDFLASH program to be installed prior to the operating system, which I admit I failed to do. Hey, I've built 4 other machines, never heard of such a step, and have done 2 other successful BIOS upgrades. I've had a lot of trouble understanding the instructions from ASUS, would be better off if I knew Chinese. At least the site you sent me to, MicroBell, had a clear explanation of how it is supposed to work, and I've bookmarked the page. There seem to be many many people in this forum alone who have had trouble setting up this mobo, which Tom's Hardware recently called Motherboard of the Year, lol.

My problem is with installing apps or loading files over 8 megs I get errors up the wazoo. ASUS now says this is because of drives that now have 8 megs of cache, that they weren't available prior to release of mobo. But that is bs, those drives are not that new, my mobo is Rev2.0, bought in August, it never should have been shipped with this faulty BIOS. So everything I've installed over 8 megs has problems, including Windows. I'm SOL. If anyone has any other ideas before I reformat, I'm waiting til I have a whole day, maybe this weekend. Thanks...

TT
ttuthill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.