bluescreen when restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 12:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default bluescreen when restarting

ok on my windows 98 machine, whenever i restart, i always get a blue screen that looks likethis

how can i fix this?

windows 98
Pentium II 350MHZ
64MB RAM
ATI RAGE IIC
32X CDROM
8GIG FUJITSU HDD

it looks like this http://www.freewebs.com/acidxdropper/dsc00247.jpg
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

copy the link into ur ie
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 05:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

hey man, cant see !
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

o sorry guys...heres what it says

An exception 06 has occurred at 0027:00000017 in VxD ---. This was called from 0028:C14C7B2A in VxD VTDI(01) + 000000BA. It may be possible to continue normally.

when i press a key, sometimes it would restart but sometimes it would go to this black screen with all these dots.

once again, sorry about the picture
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

VxD's are usually related to virtual drivers (which acts a translator between your hardware and driver software). Although it doesn't always mean that it's a driver related issue. I have heard about various VxD erros that have been caused by McAffee and various other software as well.

Did you install/Uninstall any software or driver before this prob. occurred?

Closest match I could find at MSKB that relates to your situation was this:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=194536
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

well it could be my cable modem. i just got it but it wouldnt work on windows 98 for some reason. so this guy put in a cd and had a registry file on it. he ran that and then the modem started working. but seeing as how i reformated and still have the problem, i dont think its that.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

I wish i was more knowledgeble about this to help you further. Maybe one of hte Mods will have some ideas.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 09:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

okay, before it boots up does it say ANYTHING in the Dos looking screen stating unable to find whatever_file_it_says.vxd? Then, it goes to this screen? Did you reinstall the modem and such after the format? Should of waited to install the modem after the format to see if it functioned normally THEN installed the modem and its software. If so, you maybe seeing something like unable to locate or these files could not be found and you might see vnetsup.vxd, vredir.vxd, and some others. If you do, please post it.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 09:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

oh... nevermind, I see it now... using a cyrix? sounds MBD related. May need to check for chipset and controller drivers for it.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.