Blue "Stop" Screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 07:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy Blue "Stop" Screen?

I built my own PC and I was running Windows 2000 Professional on it for over a year. Just recently, my computer would restart randomly. Then I turned my computer on a few days ago and got this message:

"**STOP:0X0000007B (0X820B98B0, 0XC0000032, 0X00000000, 0X00000000) INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps: Check for viruses on your computer. Remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllers. Check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and terminated. Run CHKDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption, and then restart your computer. Refer to your Getting Started manual for more information on troubleshooting Stop errors."

It pops up even before Windows boots all the way, so I have no idea of what to do. I would appreciate anyone's suggestions. Thanks!
__________________

jkosydor is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Firstly, make sure your virus scanner is up to date & scan the entire hard drive for viruses.
If it is clean, run a disk checking utility (scandisk, chkdsk etc) and check for bad sectors (surface scan) as well as the usual checks.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Use your Windows cd if you have it to do a repair...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you are on a dell machine run the 90/90 by accessing F2 while booting up... This will check your disk.

REFORMAT !
good luck
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Okay, I ran chkdsk and it said it found one or more errors on the disk, however, it didn't promt to fix them. What should I do next? Thanks for the help!
jkosydor is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Nevermind, it fixed it automatically. Everythings good. Thanks everyone for all the help.
__________________

jkosydor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.