blue screen when loading OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2003, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Exclamation blue screen when loading OS

I keep getting a blue screen when I am loading 2000 pro.
It does it right when it trys to load files onto my HD. Right after you partion and it is done formatting. I am formatting in ntfs with 2000 pro on a new wd 120. I have tried reseting cmos and bios then reloading but keeps doing it over and over. Is this something common?
__________________

Sytech is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Can you post the first few lines of the blue screen error. Also, can you please post you're HW specs....video, sound, memory, etc.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 04:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

page_falt_in_nonpage_area

I just tried to install again. I partioned 10 gb formatted. Windows setup was installing files and about 10% into the install it came up with:

Setup cannot copy the file certcli.dll

I hit enter to retry it wouldnt let me. If I hit escape to skip it just kept bringing up same screen with choices but a different file that it could not copy.......

It does that or goes to the blue screen of death.


Gigabyte 81k1100
Ati 9800XT
2gb 3200 ddr
sound audigy 2
WD 120 8mb cache
pioneer dvd
Sytech is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Sounds like a bad cd
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Just bought it yesterday. I actually got it to load!!
One of my ram chips were bad.... However after installing drivers and restarting a few times it came up with NTLDR is missing, right after it verifys the dma pool.
Should I blow the OS and reformatt and install?
Sytech is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Give it a Shot Dude!! Or like Ryan says it could be a bad CD.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Ya that worked thanks for everyones help........
Sytech is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i have had this problem numerous times when installing win2k or winXP on older machines. the problem is always from memory not being compatible with the operating system or cd-rom was not reading CD correctly.

you may want to try re-arranging the memory around or using another brand is that is possible. test with only 1 memory stick in the first memory slot. also try using another newer cd-rom manufacturered recently
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 12:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Your right it was memory and CD

1 of my 4 512 was bad" the one I had in the first slot of course"

Also the two operating systems I was trying to load were bad Cds

Alot of grief a little pain BUT LOTS OF GAIN!!!

My Box is up ang going!

Thanks everyone for the help..................
__________________

Sytech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.