Blue screen at startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2004, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 81
Default Blue screen at startup

hi hi,

my computer has been having this on-off problem. An error screen appear upon startup. I then restart the comp. then i can get into desktop then this error reportin thing pops up and says this file is causin e prob: sysdata.xml i then open my computer and went to the directory. There are 5 such files all with e same name but different file sizes. How? So e error screen wont occcur again?

Thank you.
__________________

yandaoben is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Where is the EXACT location? This has to do with a minidump, and sysdata is just reporting it. Where is sysdata.xml file location? Also, this may sound WEIRD, but r u using a GeForce MX series card?
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 81
Default thanks

k thanks for yr reply. the files are located here:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Temp\WER1.tmp.dir00


no i not useing g force i usin ati radeon 9200

help! thanks.
yandaoben is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 11:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

K, with ATI you wanna update the driver for the card. Sounds weird, but here is the info:

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;318023

probably have to do this in safe mode.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 81
Default

ok ive dled the driver update. do i haf to install in safe mode? cos i tried installin in normal windows mode once it downloaded and nth happening. they just asked me to restart after installation. however i did try to install in safe mode again n they say sth bout "driver not present" or sth like that... how? O yea, while playin a game anotehr blue screen popped up and said things like:

- Cehck for adequate disk space.
-if driver is identified in stop msg, disable driver or check with the manufactuere for driver updates.
-try chaning video adapters.
how? HELP PLEASE!!
Thank you.
yandaoben is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.