Blue screen memory dump - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default Blue screen memory dump

HELP!!!!

I am gettin a blue screen on Windows load. It says

windows failed to load because of this reason.

BAD_POOL_CALLER

then it goes through the "if you installed hardware incorectly, this could be the reason" and then it gives these numbers

0x000000c2 (0x00000043, 0xc6024000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Im not sure what all that means. Now, let me list some events that might be of help. Last night, my ISP started messin up and is still today having problems. The computer that is spoutin this message was working fine about 4:30 yesterday, I shut it down, then @ 6:30 I went to power it up, it flashed this message.

I honestly do not know what this means, so any help or advice would be great.

thanks!!!!!
__________________

__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Did you add anything new recently ?
New ram or gpu by any chance ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

nope, nothing was added.
__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

That error comes from usually a RAM or GPU error.
You should run memtest/memtest86 and rule that out first.

Then update all your drivers through safemode w/ networking.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

ok, sounds viable. However, (I forgot to mention this, sorry) I can't get to safe mode, with/without networking. Unless.......A boot disk could do it couldn't it? if it could, is there something I need to press to get it to load the boot disk (provided the BIOS is set correctly) like F8 for advanced options???

We should be able to rule out GPU, at least for now, that's onboard. Ill swap the ram see if that won't fix it. I turned off silent boot, and I got one beep. BIOS beep codes said that was a refresh error. (still got video :P) but with a full memory test @ POST, I read all of the memory. hmmmm.....ok, ill try the stick of ram, see if that will get it. What about safe mode (above) ???


again, thanks
__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

So your machine as of right now won't access safe mode at all ? or just safe mode w/ networking ?

Boot disk might help.

Whens the last time you tried to boot up normally ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

As of right now:

Safe mode: Negative

safe mode w/ networking: Negative

Safe mode w/ console: Negative

Last know good config.: Negative



Last time to boot up normally:

15 - 20 min. ago, right before and after swapping the RAM.
again, Negative both times.

I think we can rule out a RAM error. I swapped out the stick for a known good stick, and got the same screen.

:grind:
__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 01:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Would you be apposed to reformating ?
Have you searched that pool code with microsoft ?
Do you run xp or 2000 ?
Have you installed any new software ?
Can you access the bios ? have you reset to defaults ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...d_stp_czgw.asp
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

Ya, I have searched the pool code on Microsoft.

Cannot free a non-allocated nonpaged pool address.
• Parameter 1 = 0x41 : Attempt to free a non-allocated nonpaged pool address
• Parameter 2 = Starting address
• Parameter 3 = physical page frame
• Parameter 4 = highest physical page frame

unfortunatly, my parameter is 0x43, not 0x41, am I to assume it's still a non-allocated nonpaged pool address?

Windows XP

yes, I can access the BIOS, not a problem. I haven't thought about the defaults.

New Software - yes. ProShow Gold from crystal graphics and PowerPlugs from crystal graphics.
Pro Show is a program to extract still frames from DV and import it to a presentation, powerplugs is simple files, and plug ins for powerpoint.

as for reformatting, well, it's an option, one that can readily be exhausted, but if I can keep from it, I would really like to.
__________________

__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.