Blue Screen (Fatal error) how to recover files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 06:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default Blue Screen (Fatal error) how to recover files

I have got 3 OSs installed on my laptop:

1- 2000 Advanced server

2- FC4

3- Solaris 10

Suddenly I received blue screen (fatal error screen) when I booted my laptop in 2000 server.

How can I recover my files and folders.

I am thinking to use knoppix live CD V4,,,

Or mounting windows partition under Linux.

Is there any other idea (may be it will easier) ?
__________________

zillah is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 06:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Have you tried the basic repair funtion on your 2K CD yet?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 07:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Have you tried the basic repair funtion on your 2K CD yet?
No....could you please advise like what ?
zillah is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 10:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Make the CD the first bootable drive. Put in the Win2k install cd and when prompted, so a OS repair. It's that simple.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
when prompted, so a OS repair.
It did not work.
zillah is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

Can you specifiy the error.
When 2000 starts to boot, you can press F8 to get a startup menu and then you can choose safe mode.
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Can you specifiy the error.
Code:
***STOP:0x0000001E (0xC0000005, 0xF5E8CAB0,0x00000000, 0x00000000)
KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED

If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer. If this
screen appears again, follow these steps:

1- Check to be sure you have adequate disk space. 

2- If a driver is identified in the Stop message, disable
the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.


3- Check with your hardware vender for any BOIS updates. Disable BIOS memory options such as changing or shodowing. 

4- If you need to use sfae mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select Safe Mode.

5- Refer to your Getting Started Manual for more information on troubleshooting Stop errors.

Quote:
When 2000 starts to boot, you can press F8 to get a startup menu and then you can choose safe mode.
It did work......Can I repair the windows OS or I have to install fresh one ?
zillah is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

repair....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
repair....
Quote:
It did not work
zillah is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zillah
Code:
***STOP:0x0000001E (0xC0000005, 0xF5E8CAB0,0x00000000, 0x00000000)
KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED

If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer. If this
screen appears again, follow these steps:

1- Check to be sure you have adequate disk space. 

2- If a driver is identified in the Stop message, disable
the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.


3- Check with your hardware vender for any BOIS updates. Disable BIOS memory options such as changing or shodowing. 

4- If you need to use sfae mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select Safe Mode.

5- Refer to your Getting Started Manual for more information on troubleshooting Stop errors.

It did work......Can I repair the windows OS or I have to install fresh one ?

the reason i said that was because of this above....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.