Blue screen error. Help needed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2004, 04:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Question Blue screen error. Help needed!

Whenever I play Call of duty about 30 minutes to an hour into the game my computer flashes a blue screen and then restarts. I disabled the automatic restart and this is what the blue screen says.

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to be sure you have adequate disk space. If a driver is identified in the stop message. Disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.

Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS updates. Disable BIOS memory otions such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components. Restart your computer, pres F8 to select advanced startup options, and then select safe mode.

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0x0000008E (0XC0000005,0X8059B4B6,0XF497496C,0X00000000)

Beginning dump of physical memory
Physical memory dump complete

contact your system administrator or technical support group for further assistance.



I just bought this computer and it is only 3 days old. Here are the system specs

Windows XP Home
Athlon XP 3200+
Asus A7V600 motherboard
Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 128mb
1024mb RAM

Can anybod help me out? I am not very computer literate so i dont know how to
disable BIOS caching/shadowing as the error messege says. I also downloaded all the windows updates and downloaded the latest video drivers and have Directx 9.0b. Also one of my friends also has this exact same problem and he is also using Windows XP.

I am really desperate, I bought this PC for gaming and I cant even play without getting that error.
__________________

Nightwish is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 04:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Check this out

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;330187

also it sounds like a hibernation problem at a quick glance... turn hibernation OFF and also turn all the power settings to NEVER.

enter the START>SETTINGS>CONRTOL PANEL>POWER OPTIONS> then swtich all those settings to never then click the advanced tab and uncheck the hibernation option if it is checked.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 05:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

also try getting newer/different drivers for your sound & video card etc.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 05:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Hibernation was already off and all the power settings were at never except the "turn off monitor" which was set to "after 20 min" but i dont see that that would be the problem. That link to microsoft states that it only applys to computers that are expieriencing that specific problem. I dont get and error after changing hardware acceleration. Or the error KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
any more ideas?
Nightwish is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Take the following steps
1) Uninstall the game
2) reinstall the graphics card
3) then reinstall the game.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 09:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Does the Call of Duty website have any updates? Do all the other games Play OK?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 10:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Default

For any online game there should be constant updates and this normally happens when you load the game. Double check the Call of Duty website just incase.

Did you buy your pc with the OS on it already? If so, I'd recommend bringing it back to the person who built it while it's under warranty.

If not, then it sounds like you and your friend might have a faulty software. Whether it be the game, the OS or the drivers.

Did your friend get his pc at the same place? Do you both have the same apps and hardware?
Reason why I ask is because it could have been ghosted or cloned and the hardware may not have the correct drivers, hence, supporting maverick_teck's theory.
frankieee is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

My friend and I do not have the same computer. His PC is almost 2 years old. We did not buy our computers at the same place. Yes the computer came with an OS already installed. I have downloaded the latest patch for the game. I havent yet tried playing other games but that is what im going to try next.
Nightwish is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 11:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Ive tried playing other games and they worked fine. I played Diablo II and Warcraft III. Then I tried playing Call of Duty again and got a DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL error

Wanarp.sys-address F7A70064 base at F7A6E000, Datestamp 3b7d84bb

Please tell me whats going on.
Nightwish is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 08:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I'd Try to Re-Install the Game & contact the Manufacturer of the game for some additional support if that doesn't fix it.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.