blocking a web site - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default blocking a web site

is there any way to block just one certain web site, for example if i want to block Yahoo.com from being accesiable on my computer how can i do that.
__________________

badhorsie is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

In Internet Explorer :


Tool\Internet Options\Content :

Enable Content Advisor.

Select the Approved Sites Tab...

Enter in www.yahoo.com and select the DENY button.
You will be prompted to enter a "Supervisor" password that you will need to create.

This will prompt for a password everytime yahoo.com is accessed.

Now, Im sure there are ways to get around this... ex: using firefox and using Google to trick IE...


Also, Make sure you put a rating on all sites... the content advisor will see the unrated sites as "Bad" sites...
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Or a simple hack:

Go into your Hosts file (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) and add in this line

Code:
127.0.0.1             www.webpage.com
replace www.webpage.com with the one you want to block.

This will redirect any requests to the webpage to your local computer, which effectively blocks that page.


I'm not a fan of the IE content advisor because it relies on the web page your visiting to implement the correct coding. Plus it only works for IE.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

and its easy to delete via the registry
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bla!!
Or a simple hack:

Go into your Hosts file (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) and add in this line

Code:
127.0.0.1             www.webpage.com
replace www.webpage.com with the one you want to block.

This will redirect any requests to the webpage to your local computer, which effectively blocks that page.


I'm not a fan of the IE content advisor because it relies on the web page your visiting to implement the correct coding. Plus it only works for IE.
I need to block yahoo and msn
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.