Block IE - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2007, 02:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Block IE

Quote:
Originally Posted by grkbar View Post
You can not "block" IE because MS packages it with your OS. Therefore, you can do what Makaveli213 is saying and block it using your firewall. However, I third party firewall may be better due to the Windows FIrewall possibly having a bias against blocking IE. Also, if IE is your default browser, you can switch it to Firefox very easily. That would eliminate usage issues. If you can not find a way to block it, I would just delete all shortcuts and set your default browser to another such as Firefox.
I don't use the windows firewall. FF is currently the default browser on every account on this computer. I even went into her account and set the "Web" button on the keyboard (opens the browser) to FF, but she still doesn't use it....I think she just wants to **** me off.

Thanks for the help Makaveli.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 05:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Block IE

go to "set pet program access and default". go to custom and set ff as the default broswer. uncheck the "enable access to this program"by IE and it can't be accessed.

I do this to a lot of computers for people that have kids
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 11:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Block IE

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
go to "set pet program access and default". go to custom and set ff as the default broswer. uncheck the "enable access to this program"by IE and it can't be accessed.

I do this to a lot of computers for people that have kids
Awesome man, thanks a ton.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 01:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Block IE

That seems kinda...mean...heh.

People should be able to use whatever browse they want.

I, personally, cannot stand the bloatware that is firefox.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 03:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Block IE

[
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
Awesome man, thanks a ton.
no problem.

QUOTE=Brinson;1226235]That seems kinda...mean...heh.

People should be able to use whatever browse they want.

I, personally, cannot stand the bloatware that is firefox.[/QUOTE]

how exactly is firefox bloatware? what browser do you use?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 03:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Block IE

Firefox can become bloatware with all sorts of extensions installed. Some magazine did a study and found out that with each extension another 50KB of RAM is used or something liek that. So if you go al out with the extensions you end up using more resources for firefox than even IE.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 08:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Block IE

cut it out. that was an issue when our systems had 64 megs of ram. each extension has a use. you have the choice to decide if you want it or not
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTF is a Bad Block? MikesCreation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 02-24-2008 09:31 PM
Suggest a Water Block Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-23-2007 04:51 PM
Should I Block Web Traffic Counters? White_Wolf Internet Software and Browsers 5 08-03-2007 12:30 PM
I want to block others from looking at my bookmarks.. ThoughtsOfJapan Internet Software and Browsers 2 07-29-2007 05:45 AM
Do you want your company to block all the adult sites? lele232323 Off Topic Discussion 4 07-03-2007 10:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.