Blank Page Apears When Windows Loads - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 12:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default Blank Page Apears When Windows Loads

A random blank internet explorer page appears when windows loads. The box is defaulted to about:blank so i dont know why this is coming up, short of finding it in the registry to find the problem, i cant find an answer.

Has anybody else got this problem, or does anyone know how to stop this from happening? It not annoying at all, i just want to stop it from happening!
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 01:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

have you checked msconfig for something?
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Well done kind sir, genius! Dont know why i didnt think of it before, all fixed including some other little nasties.... i completly forgot about msconfig!

Thanks once again.

;-)
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would post your Hijackthis log in the Hijackthis forum. Just to be sure aren't infected.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

uh, lol
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 67
Default

I would definitely check for spyware/adware/trojans, since *something* changed that setting, and it is most likely one of these.
HeddaLora is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Yup correct, spyware has caused other things to apear during windows loading. I have used SS&D and my "little binary workhorse" is now functioning correctly.

*"little binary workhorse" quote from a good piece of text written by someone on here. Loved it so i used it! lol
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.