is the BIOS updated when some one makes chaneg to the harwdare config - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 08:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default is the BIOS updated when some one makes chaneg to the harwdare config

Hello

I was wondering if the BIOS is updated when someone makes change to the harwdare configuration of a machine.

e.g. if i replace my seagate harddrive with a maxtor hard drive, is the BIOS updated to reflect this change.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

how do you mean? If you mean the BIOS actually updates in version then no. If what you meant was when you put your hard drive in then it`ll show it as a maxtor etc then yes it will.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 09:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

If the BIOS is Plug-and-Play; which most are. Except the really old ones (>15 years).
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the replies

what i meant is that when the hard drive is chanegd, doesn't the BIOS
get updated, i came across the term extended system configuration data which implied that the bios changed itself once a hardware chaneg cocured. would that be possibel with plug and play BIOS's?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

basically your BIOS reads your seagate at present, Once removed and you put the maxtor in its place the BIOS will show your maxtor drive.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
thanks for the replies

what i meant is that when the hard drive is chanegd, doesn't the BIOS
get updated, i came across the term extended system configuration data which implied that the bios changed itself once a hardware chaneg cocured. would that be possibel with plug and play BIOS's?
Yes, you don't have to change any settings. Just plug it in.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the replies

so does the BIOS update itself when we make a hardware chaneg?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
thanks for the replies

so does the BIOS update itself when we make a hardware chaneg?
It generally does, yes.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
thanks for the replies

so does the BIOS update itself when we make a hardware chaneg?
yup pretty much for everything.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.