BIOS Update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2008, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to BottleRocket
Default BIOS Update

So I can't seem to update the BIOS on my HP laptop. It says that I need to be an administrator to start the process. But under the account settings in the control panel, it says that I am the administrator. What is going on?
__________________

BottleRocket is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: BIOS Update

right-click run as admin?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BIOS Update

If you run Vista do as Fat Clown said. Right click and Run as Admin. If in XP. Double check the User account section.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 02:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to BottleRocket
Default Re: BIOS Update

Nope, I tried that and it still gave me the same pop up....
BottleRocket is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 08:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BIOS Update

Try it from Safe Mode with the Right Click and Run as admin.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to BottleRocket
Default Re: BIOS Update

That didn't work either.
BottleRocket is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 07:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BIOS Update

You might have to enalbe the hidden admin account.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e8400+ bios update? braz Overclocking and Modding 21 02-22-2008 06:06 PM
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.