Bios Password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2005, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Default Bios Password

I work a a school and a student put a HDD/Bios Password on one of my laptops. As soon as you try and boot, i get prompted. It is a laptop with no jumpers on the Motherboard. I removed the CMOS battery, but all that did was have me reset the date and time. Password stayed in there. ANY help? Gateway told me to reformat. Would that work? Is there an easier way?

techdude25 is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

You will not be able to reformat because you cannot get past the POST. Call gateway again. They may have confused it to be an operating system PW

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Well the reset should have cleared any bios password for BIOS, try resetting again.

Also, I think you may have mixed up BIOS password with a boot password. On some hard drives \ BIOS's you can like put a password to stop people from ascessing that drive.

Their is no way to clear those without taking out your data, you should be able to format it.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 12:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720

If you took the CMOS battery out, BIOS has no memory, it'll be reseted with new power. So I don't see how the BIOS password stayed. As DJ-CHRIS said, I think you may be confusing the BIOS password with the boot pass.

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

The HDD password is done throught a special control on the HD, through the bios, but not in the BIOS. You can't reset it. There is no way to get around it that I know of, at least for IBM's which is our primary use.
The vendor might have the control to get around it, but they ussually don't like to release that information to the public.
if it's a boot password, it's something else as well. The boot is housed in the actual BIOS EEPROM, not CMOS. The Cmos is where the Bios password is located. The BOOT password is done before post even happend and will block the system from booting. It's not a clearable thing either. Due to it being in the actuall BIOS config not the CMOS which is the (delta) changes for the bios.
Good luck to you...
Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.