Bios for my motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 05:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 42
Default Bios for my motherboard

I want to update the bios for my motherboard, but the site warns that only people with experience should do so? Is this something most computer users can do, or is there something I should know?
__________________

Quake_City is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

Well there should be instruction on how to do it. It is scary at first but at some point in time we all have to learn.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

Just as long as the power doesnt go out while you're doing it, and you don't shut your comp off, you should be fine. It took about 10 minutes total to do mine, but it only took < 30 seconds to do the actual update.

I wouldn't really recommend doing it within Windows...I'd suggest putting in on a USB drive, and copying it off of that.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

Mine can only go from within Windows. So pfft. I have upgraded it from version 1.0a to version 1.09a without any troubles from within Windows. Jsut depends on the Manufacturer if they have a good enough app to do it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

REally? That seems odd that you can't do it through update utility, lol. I just don't like the idea of doing it through Windows, personally xD. Don't know how good some of their updating programs are... I'd prefer not to find out the hard way, heh.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

Using ASUS EZ Flash to Update BIOS

The ASUS EZ Flash feature allow you to easily update the BIOS without having to go through the long process of booting from a diskette and using a DOS-based utility. The EZ Flash is built-in the BIOS firmware so it is accessible by simply pressing "Alt" + "F2" during the Power-On Self Tests (POST). Follow these steps to update the BIOS using ASUS EZ Flash.

1. Download the latest BIOS file from the ASUS Website. Save the file to a floppy disk. (Write down the BIOS file name on a piece of paper. You need to type the exact BIOS file name at the EZ Flash screen.)

2. Reboot the computer.

3. To use EZ Flash, press "Alt" + "F2" during POST to display the following screen.

4. Insert the disk that contains the new BIOS file into the floppy drive. You will receive the error message, "WARNING! Device not ready." if you proceed to step 5 without the disk in the drive.

5. At the prompt, "Please Enter File Name for NEW BIOS:_", type in the BIOS file name that you downloaded from the ASUS website, then press "Enter". EZ Flash will automatically access drive A to look for the file name that you typed. When found, the following message appears on screen.

If you accidentally typed in a wrong BIOS file name, the error message, "WARNING! File not found." appears. Press "Enter" to remove the message, then type in the correct file name. Press "Enter".

6. At the above prompt, type Y to continue with the updated process. Pressing N exits the EZ Flash screen and reboots the system without updating the BIOS. The following prompts appear if you typed Y.

7. Press Y to update the main BIOS ares. (Do not shutdown or reset the system while updating the BIOS area! Doing so may cause system boot failure.)

8. When the updated process is done, the message, "Press any key to reboot" appears. Press any key to reboot the system with the new BIOS.


Anyone know of anything I should be looking out for if I follow this procedure? Because it looks pretty manageable for most who have used a computer for a reasonable amount of time.
Quake_City is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

As already stated you should just make sure the PC does not freeze or get shut down during the procedure.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

Dude I appreciate your help, but things donít always go to script! I tried several time to do this, but it kept saying file P5GCMX.ROM isnít on the cd? I downloaded 7 updates none were name that.
e.g.; 0209.ROM, P5GC-MX-ASUS-O5O7.ROM, P5GC-MX-ASUS-O3O5.ROM and so on. My question now is should I try changing the file name to what itís looking for? If so do I need to change the file name of all of them?
That is I change file name 0209.ROM to P5GCMX.ROM go through the procedure then change the next file name to P5GCMX.ROM and so on until theyíre all done?
Quake_City is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 01:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

Are you sure you downloaded the right file? And can't you just put 'em on a USB flash drive and use that? That's all I did (not sure if your motherboard can boot off of USB drives). Makes it a ton easier.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Bios for my motherboard

I went to Asus Bios update page --> ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-
Then here --> You may choose "ASUS Navigation Wizard" (this ASUS Navigation Wizard is useless) or "General Download" to obtain product BIOS, drivers, utilities and user manuals.
Then I enter the product --> motherboard (ASUS) --> Then series (Socket 775) --> The Model (P5GC-MX)
If that’s wrong I’ll be &#37;$#@ed!

It has only two fields which you get to choose Floopy disk or CD, if I could use my flash card I would!
__________________

Quake_City is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
BIOS chip on my motherboard ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-29-2007 04:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.