Biggest Windows Problem Ever - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2005, 11:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Well, I got into the BIOS setup screen ,but there is another problem. I changed the boot order, but the disk still isnt reading. I hate this computer.
__________________

Relapse is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

Do you only have one CD drive, one floppy drive and one hard drive?

-GrayWolf
__________________

GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

yes. one of each.
Relapse is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

What is your current boot order?
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

first: CDROM
second: A:
third: HARD DRIVE C:
Relapse is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

ok then lets see....

make sure you don't have a disk in your a: drive, insert your recovery CD and restart the computer, then tell me what happens....

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

nothing. but when i changed my bios settings to perform a system-check, there was something that read 162-System Options have not been set.
Relapse is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

...nothing? Most computers will display operating system not found if they can't find an OS to boot with. Do you have your manual handy? Also check the date and time that the BIOS displays is it correct? if not then chances are that the BIOS has been reset.

Also if you have a windows 98 startup floppy you could boot with that, when the menu is displayed select start this computer with CD-ROM support. Then all you would have to do after the computer booted off the floppy is navagate to the CD Drive and run setup off the disc.

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

i'll try...
Relapse is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

wow. something new happened. I inserted my win98 second edition cd rom in its drive w/o floppy support, and the os is booting. get back to you asap. btw, thx for your help.
__________________

Relapse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.