big windows problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2006, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to nosralboo
Unhappy big windows problem

Alright so I got a a new computer a month ago. It's working great, but that not the problem. I am giving my older computer to my dad,(msi mobo, athlon xp 1800+, 256mb ram, 20 gig WD HD, 80 gig WD HD)
I installed windows 2000 on it but I have been havinga major problem! It boots up great and runs fine for about 5 minutes, then after like 3 min doing stuff on it, it has huge lock up periods, like 45 seconds a piece. I had my processor oc'd, it isn't anymore, but I dont think it's fried cuz it worked great when I owned the computer, and I had it oc'd like quite a bit. Does this sound like a windows 2000 compatibility problem or do you think it's my hardware? I literally just reinstalled 2000(and reformatted) yesturday so there wasn't a chance a virus or other things could be sucking up my resources.
__________________

nosralboo is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did it work fine before you formatted?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to nosralboo
Default

well I was using an old Dell before,but I figured out the problem! thanks anyway
nosralboo is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

Could you tell us what you did to fix it, so that others who might have this problem know what you did? (I know I had this problem on a P4 2.8GHz, where it would stall for a minute or more, then FINALLY go. Ended up reformatting)
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.