Big Problem....help req'd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default Big Problem....help req'd

I bought a pc and thought i could configure it myself. I installed winxp pro onto the c drive but didn't realise the hard drive needed partioning. When i saw the size of the drive at 1.99 i freaked! A friend told me i needed to format the rest of the hard drive......which i did. I thought i'd be ok with all the programmes going to the bigger e drive. My problem is that of course all documents, temp files, internet temp files go to the c drive and i'm now essentially 'full up'.

My question........

How can i transfer the operating system to the larger portion of the hard drive or can i reinstall winxp pro to the bigger portion.

One final thing, the 1.99 gb portion is FAT32 and the 78gb portion is ntfs.

I know i should have left it to someone who new what he/she was doing........but i'm here and gutted to say the least. ANY help at all will be greatly welcome!!

Tony.
__________________

towouk is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, you need to blow away both partitions and repartition to one 80gb one and install Windows on there. Boot from the XP cd, and follow the instructions to install a new version of Windows. It wil come to a screen where you can delete partitions. Follow the instructions to delete both. Then proceed to set up a partition in the drive, and the format it using NTFS and install Windows. Alot easier than it sounds.

Or you could get your hands on Partition Magic which should merge both partitions. You will first have to convert your FAT partition to NTFS, which partition magic may or may not be able to do for you, I dont know.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Him, you've certainly helped allay my fears somewhat......as i've not installed that much since performing the horrible act, i've not got too much to lose.

I'll let you know how i get on!
towouk is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 01:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, if you use Partition Magic you (shouldnt) lose any data. It dosent always work like it should though. You're welcome, let me know how things turn out!

-Bones
Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Partition magic kicks ***! I have one more thing to say though, why such a small partition?

And cant you type something into the 'run' command to change from fat32 to nfts?

oh and when you format windows will ask what youd like to sue... ntfs or not.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It was prolly an error or a mix up that caused the partition to cap at 2gb. I know that Windows 9/x has severe limits on partition sizes. I believe it is 32GB for FAT, but I am not sure.
Him is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Well...........partition magic couldn't help as it wouldn't convert the FAT 32 to NTFS.

I ended up installing windows again to the larger partition (forgot to boot from the windows disc though) and i now have the same version of WIN XP on both partitions. At start up i'm asked which version i want to run and it defaults to the newer version. Tried both.................and all seems fine.

All's well that ends well i guess. I'm still perplexed though , as i didn't think it was possible to have two of the same operating system on the same pc?
towouk is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

You could install 50 versions of the same os as long as they are in different folders. I think you will end up with other issues if you leave it like that. You really should get that all set up correctly as posted previously if you want to avoid future headaches.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.