Big Prob I cant figure out !!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 07:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Unhappy Info

I have a linux on floppy copy, but it says " Invalid System Disk "

I WANT to put linux on it, but it wont recognize the floppy
__________________

johnnae17 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default Info

What is a port replicator ?
__________________

johnnae17 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

also known as a docking station, but with many of the normal PC connections. that way you can install from another PC, just do it via network install of o/s.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Wink Info

How can I get a docking station then ?
johnnae17 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 287
Default

Lol i forgot that you did not have a cd-rom, so you will need to install it through some pc that does have a cd-rom. You could also try and slave the laptop hd to another pc and then install the OS.
__________________
\"Today\'s scientists have substituted mathematics for experiments, and they wander off through equation after equation, and eventually build a structure which has no relation to reality.\" Nikola Tesla
gab00n is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

ther serial connection/parrallel interface, can be used to network the machine to another machine. Then you can use the CDrom from another machine to install from as well. There are a lot of ways to do what you want. Be creative. Search google, and you will find the answer... atleast that is what I had to do once before I knew anything...
does it have USB by chance? I know of some dos USB drivers that are very cool...
Inaris is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 01:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default Another idea....

If you have or know someone that has a USB Floppy Drive/CD-ROM drive, you could purchase a DB-9 Serial-to-USB converter (est $7). Hook the drive up to the converter on the back of your laptop. This way you should be able to access a CD or Floppy to do your work of FDisking or just reinstalling an OS.

Hope the idea works for you.
mortified is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 01:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Smile Info

Thanks guys
johnnae17 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

google docking station and port replicator, it allows for external storage and common PC connections not found on laptops.


http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article...,112162,00.asp

for more info
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.