Bet you can't figure this out! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2006, 02:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

How do you recommend I copy the i386 folder. The windows recovery console will not allow the copy of a directory, is there a command that will allow me to copy all of the contents of a directory?
__________________

madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 02:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you can try a different drive. if you got another computer, use that computer cd rom drive through a network. then you just use nlite or copy and paste to copy the contents. I would copy the whole xp cd

the reason I say this is because if the cd can't copy the file directly in dos, it probably can't in windows
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Well.. its not a legit copy, so I'm thinking the source itself is bad. Even if he downloaded it twice, chances are it was still the same ISO or BIN file - just two different people hosting it.
Snump is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yea, basically your problem is:

1. CD-ROM Drive
2. CD-ROM Disc
3. RAM

In that order.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Yea, basically your problem is:

1. CD-ROM Drive
2. CD-ROM Disc
3. RAM

In that order.
exactly
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

And very rarely a damaged hard disk, but you may get other errors even before it starts copying.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snump
Well.. its not a legit copy, so I'm thinking the source itself is bad. Even if he downloaded it twice, chances are it was still the same ISO or BIN file - just two different people hosting it.
One of the copies I tried is legit and came with the laptop. The other is not, and they both had the same errors. Memtest ran for 23 passes and no errors, I am thinking the drive or the hard drive.
madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 04:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by madmax670
One of the copies I tried is legit and came with the laptop. The other is not, and they both had the same errors. Memtest ran for 23 passes and no errors, I am thinking the drive or the hard drive.
I withdraw the statement.
Snump is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 07:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by madmax670
One of the copies I tried is legit and came with the laptop. The other is not, and they both had the same errors. Memtest ran for 23 passes and no errors, I am thinking the drive or the hard drive.
we've told you what to do. you can tell if it is the hard drive by running tests by that hdd manufacture
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 04:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

It did turn out to be the DVD drive, thanks for all your help guys!
__________________

madmax670 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.