Bet you can't figure this out! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2006, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default Bet you can't figure this out!

First off, I would like to say, I tried searching and only found one thread that helped me, either not a lot of people have this problem, or I am really bad at searching, but I did try for at least 45 mins.

I have already reformatted the hard drive of my HP dv5000 series laptop twice. When I try to install Windows Media Center 2005 from the disk that came with the laptop, it will not copy the file cyycoins.chm and a whole laundry list of other files.

So, I got another copy of windows media center 2005 and tried that. Same thing happened, same file would not copy. And of course others.

Memtest is just about done with its first pass and it has found no errors.

I have considered it being the DVD drive itself, but found that kind of unlikely, but I may try that, what do you think?

Why cant I install Windows?

What can I try?
__________________

madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

CD/DVD drive problem? Is this a legit copy?

Try skipping the file , I did that once on 2000 Pro, skip a file it couldn't copy and never had a problem. But you shouldn't.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

The second copy that I tried is not legit, however; it booted just like any other windows installer, and seeing as it stalled at the same file, I doubt it's that but correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks!
madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I would run PowerMax and do a full scan, might just be a bad hard drive.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to arcman
Default

Usually when I run into that error it's a RAM issue, either defective or incompatible. So let memtest/memtest+ do a few passes to be thorough.

I don't find it likely, but I don't suppose we can rule out the hard drive completely, probably best to do a full sector scan, if for no other reason to make sure the controller is communicating with the drive properly.
arcman is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

I think you can skip it safely, that file is a HTML help file. so if thats the only file u cant copy give skippin it a shot.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 08:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
I would run PowerMax and do a full scan, might just be a bad hard drive.
Is powermax a bootable scan? Where can I get a hold of it? What is it?
madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to arcman
Default

Powermax is Maxtor's hard drive diagnostic utility. You can get it from their website, but the newer version doesn't run on non-Maxtor drives.

I recommend burning a boot cd from http://www.ultimatebootcd.com
that should have the utility from whoever manufactured your hard drive, or you can use the old versions of Powermax or Seatools (Seagate diag) for any generic drive.
arcman is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Hmm... try doing this, copy the i386 folder directly to the hdd in a folder created by you (name it something like your name temp, to make sure you wont create a folder windows will be using. Example, do not create a folder called winnt, temp, etc... something unique. Anyhow, copy the files over, then go into that folder and run winnt. If the files copy over, it should run the installation off the HDD instead.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
Hmm... try doing this, copy the i386 folder directly to the hdd in a folder created by you (name it something like your name temp, to make sure you wont create a folder windows will be using. Example, do not create a folder called winnt, temp, etc... something unique. Anyhow, copy the files over, then go into that folder and run winnt. If the files copy over, it should run the installation off the HDD instead.
yeah because you got a cheap cd rom drive (dvd burner?). you can try a usb cd rom drive too.

this is usually a ram isse or a cheap rom drive. a lot of new cd dvd drives (the one that cost 30 bucks) can't read windows xp install files,but all old drives that work do

I ran into this problem many a time and switch cd rom drive have always fixed it. it real easy too tell if the ram is doing it because memtest will show immediate errors
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.