Best Gaming OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 10:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 87
Default Best Gaming OS

I was wondering, what is the best operating system for ultimate performance, whilst using apps and games etc. I was personally thinking W2KPro ... any ideas?

I know that XP's themed etc ... and i assume this would slow down performance right?

I dont know!

Any replies would be very helpful and highly appriciated
__________________

__________________
\" When those two tracks fit together to make the perfect harmony and the adrenaline of the crowd makes you fall to your knees, making your eyes water because your caught up in the moment.... thats when you know you are a real DJ \" - DJ Dayle
ZËÐ is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

2k sucks for gaming
XP is the best for gaming, 98SE for very old games
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

I vote for , Xp with an elite setup i.e tweaking xp to the core while maintaining its functionalities
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

no way you are gonna run games on 2k. win 2k is for business and network. Not for games pal! go with XP - i's awesome
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Xp with the AlienWare DesktopX and Longhorn upgrades. Looks great and still plenty of space for performance.
Anathema is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Alienware, haha. I checked out alienware a couple of times and seen the specs and the prices. A good pc there costs $4,000. For that amount of money anyone can build their own, making it even better than that of Alienware.
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pc_boy
no way you are gonna run games on 2k. win 2k is for business and network. Not for games pal! go with XP - i's awesome
I'll have you know games run just fine with win2k, i have it so i ought to know. NEVER had any probs with win2k on ANY games

--jak
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

I vote xp because you can tweak every setting for maximum performance and because it's the most recent windows os all the new games HAVE to work on it.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I would recommend Windows XP for gaming.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 04:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Either 2k or XP work just fine.

I personally run 2k just cause I hate all of the "features" that come with XP.

But at the core XP and 2k aren't that different.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.