Best Free Spyware Killer? / IE Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 12:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

All lies you need firefox and spysweeper.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan DeVille
I've gotten a virus warning from Avast! while using Firefox, so it's not 100% safe. You should still have some type of anti-virus and anti-spy/adware.
Yeah it is called javascript. You always at risk of getting them. That is why you have AntiVirus. Anyways Firefox protects against Spyware not Viruses. Got it?

Alot of idiots have been complaining about how they use Firefox and still get spyware. Well first off, they need to configure it, it just does not do it on its own. Also alot of these people don't understand the concept that some P2P software gives them spyware. By either getting a P2P client, or download a bunch of files laced with spyware, but because of their stupidity they think it was all FireFox.

And then after they give firefox bad talk, people go out and get alot of un-needed programs.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'll agree with you on the P2P then blame someone else part due to stupidity.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
Yeah it is called javascript. You always at risk of getting them. That is why you have AntiVirus. Anyways Firefox protects against Spyware not Viruses. Got it?

Alot of idiots have been complaining about how they use Firefox and still get spyware. Well first off, they need to configure it, it just does not do it on its own. Also alot of these people don't understand the concept that some P2P software gives them spyware. By either getting a P2P client, or download a bunch of files laced with spyware, but because of their stupidity they think it was all FireFox.

And then after they give firefox bad talk, people go out and get alot of un-needed programs.
All I was trying to say is that just using Firefox without anti-virus or anti-spy & adware is not 100% safe, as I encountered a virus using Firefox. I'm not knocking Firefox because I use it all the time. You said you don't need anything BUT Firefox, and you are wrong. And why would you have to "configure" a freakin' browser to stop spyware. It should do it automatically if it's so superior.
__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 06:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well you need configure it so that it does not automatically download software. That is how spyware gets in.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.