Been using Vista RC2 for 2 weeks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2007, 11:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Been using Vista RC2 for 2 weeks

I've been using Windows Vista RC2 Build 5744 for the last 2 weeks on my new hard drive and I was wondering if there was a problem with this? Is Microsoft going to ask me to activate it or try to stop me from using it? Is there any sort of "self-destruct" feature inside it?

I've been getting random reboots every hour or so (never the same, but roughly that time frame) and I was getting suspicious. Its very counter-productive.

On a slightly different note, when I try to install Windows XP Pro on a seperate partition, I think something goes wrong with the Boot.ini (or Windows Vista equvalent) and it gives me a disk-reading error. Any way to remedy this?
__________________

Didpo is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 02:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Been using Vista RC2 for 2 weeks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didpo View Post
I've been using Windows Vista RC2 Build 5744 for the last 2 weeks on my new hard drive and I was wondering if there was a problem with this? Is Microsoft going to ask me to activate it or try to stop me from using it? Is there any sort of "self-destruct" feature inside it?

I've been getting random reboots every hour or so (never the same, but roughly that time frame) and I was getting suspicious. Its very counter-productive.

On a slightly different note, when I try to install Windows XP Pro on a seperate partition, I think something goes wrong with the Boot.ini (or Windows Vista equvalent) and it gives me a disk-reading error. Any way to remedy this?
Aren't you getting a message that windows will shut down? Since it's rc2, it'll expire and I believe it will let you get into vista for a couple of hours....something like that. Google it and you'll see.
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Been using Vista RC2 for 2 weeks

Yes you will get a timebomb soon. RC2 should be shut down. But since you are running it i guess you set your BIOS back.

Also the RC2 has a 30 day time limit. It wont activate anymore either.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Problems FadingTheory Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-24-2007 06:55 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.