Basic Question.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2003, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sys
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 62
Wink Basic Question....

This question i ask for my fren...
my fren also use WinXP but why don have "Stand By" this function.........
__________________

__________________
Junior :)
Sys is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 12:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Question

As in "System Hibernation"???
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 06:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i think it's because the operating system does not detect that his computer has advanced power management features. i think his operating system is not recognizing that his computer is ACPI compliant. the fix might be as easy as installing the correct video card drivers.

the monitor can be shut off to save power which is part of the power management feature, that must have something to do with it. did he ever install a new video card?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I never really cared for the stand-by feature. I use to use it long ago but when I came back to my PC and the Monitor was dark I hit the power switch on the box thinking it was turned off. So I was actually turning the PC off. LOL
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

also i should elaborate: if his operating system has reverted to using the default generic video drivers, his power management features will be disabled. ask your friend to check what the driver is listed as in the control panel> system.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 11:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Just to add two bits,,

A simple bios update might eradicate the issue of the "Standby" still being an option,,,

many MOBO manufacturers put out updates to meet the needs of ACPI and XP,,

cheers,
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 12:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what are the specs of the computer - find the name of the BIOS aswell
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Sys
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 62
Default

i not sure whether my fren computer in APM or ACPI.....if in APM is it don have "standby" mode?then how to make it to ACPI?
let say if in ACPI...is it sure have "standby" function?
and my fren pc is just bought only and he use WinXP as his operatin system......
Thanks...
__________________
Junior :)
Sys is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 02:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

I never had a use for any of the features. Just turn off the monitor. Leaving it on doesnt draw that much power anyway.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 12:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Sys
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 62
Default

i had ask my fren and he said his pc in ACPI......so?
__________________

__________________
Junior :)
Sys is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.