Basic MS Dos help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2003, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Question Basic MS Dos help?

Hello,

What command do I use to browse a network share?

I know i can use NET USE to mount a share as volume but is there a way I can just browse as I do in the network neighborhood?

I've tried using CD but it doesn't work,maybe I have the syntax wrong.

Thanks
__________________

babaton is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 223
Default

The 'network neighborhood' may only update on a service that may or may not be running, for a set amount of time...like every 15mins or something...I'm sure you can force it w/ a refresh? But am not certain. WINS...netBIOS....LANMan...broadcast... - these seem important somehow. See your XP help on 'local area connections overview' section.

indepth link:

http://www.governmentsecurity.org/ar...heIPCShare.php


DOS commands my fallible memory:

use the commands

'net share' command line

also (use any command w/ a '/?' for quick info/usage)

'net use' <drive letter to be used>: \\computer\share
net use t: \\computer\share

a '/d' disconnects it

and

'net view \\computer' will give you shares

and just a 'net view' should list the computers on the network

BUT:

http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winxp/n1056407187
__________________

__________________
There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home.
President, Digital Equipment, 1977
chalk is offline  
Old 07-28-2003, 06:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks,

excellent links.

When using net use to login with a username and password then they should be in speech marks right?

NET USE \\Computername\Share "password"/USER:"username"


Also the net view commande.Does it only show the computers in your domain or workgroup or what?

Is there a way to direct it to a specific domain?

Thanks again.
babaton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.