basic computer question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2004, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default basic computer question

hi everyone: this is my 1st post on this forum, and i have a seemingly easy question, please. i was just given a laptop from my brother-in-law who is moving out of town, but the only caveat is, he didn't delete all of his things on it. so basically, it has all of his programs, pictures, documents, etc. i want to erase everything and have it be all "new" for me. is there any way that i can do that, without manually going through each and every file and deleting things? he didn't give me any programs or CDs, either, but maybe i can use the things that my desktop came with. any info you could provide would be very helpful. thanks so much!!!
__________________

medstudent2006 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

if you have an os on cd you can reinstall the os on the laptop and that will give you a clean slate to work from.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 07:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

i may have an operating system from my other computer or from my fiancee's laptop. can i use that? and how do i proceed?

thanks!
medstudent2006 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

also, are all AC adapters the same? can i use my fiancee's toshiba adapter for my compaq laptop?
medstudent2006 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

Boot from CD by changing the boot settings in BIOS (hit del on startup) and then continue from there
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 01:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 75
Default

Put the cd recover in the cd drive and then restart the comp and the cd will boot from there, works for me.
WARLORD88 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 12:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

thanks so much for the replies. now if only i can find this CD recovery, i'll be fine. thanks!
__________________

medstudent2006 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.