Badly Need Help! XP Activation Problem?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2005, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Badly Need Help! XP Activation Problem??

Hello guys,

I hope You'll be able to help me.

Today, I decided to upgrade my video card drivers (6600 GT).
I've downloaded new driver forceware 81.95. Uninstalled my
old driver and... then it all began...

I have rebooted my system and when I tried to login into my
Windows XP account, I got an error saying that I need to
activate my windows xp, otherwise it loggs me off. My XP was
activated, but I'm not sure what happened.

Anyway, I tried to activate by internet, but I connect via DSL,
and I need to use connecting program. XP offers me to automatically
detect my internet settings, but it doesn't find anything. Tried to
connect via Proxy, but no luck either.

I didn't call them for confirmation ID, cause I live outside US. I
hope maybe I'll be able to find help here...

Anyway, tried to repair windows from CD, it reinstalled XP, but still
the same thing. Then I decided to install fresh XP installation, next
to the other. It worked. I can see my C:/ disk files that were on old
windows, but can't access my documents in user account that I had. It
says Docs and Setting/AccName is not accessible. Access is denied.

I could reinstall my windows and format C:, but I have important files
on my old windowses. So the situation is that I have 2 XP operating
systems on my C: disk, one works and is activated (I'm using it now),
other requires activation and I can't access my important files.

I thought, maybe it's possible somehow to get access to that account
from this winXP version by changing something in regedit.

Other thing, find out "50 or 42 digit confirmation ID" somewhere and
enter it when prompted in phone registration option.

Don't know any other ideas...

Please, help if you have any ideas...
__________________

Mob1 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

to get access to the files form the other machine, you'll need to take ownership of the files. Right click the file or folder and click properties. Click security tab, click advanced button. CLick Owner tab, check replace owner, click ok.


If you cannot activate windows over the net, you'll need to call MS to activate it. Even if you reformat and reinstall, it will still prompt you to activate again. There's ways to avoid activation for when you reinstall or change hardware. You need to backup two certain files from your hard drive before making the change and then copy them back afterwards, but once you make the change you can't do this and you're stuck with having to activate.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

follow csamuels advice in safe mode. I don't think those option shows up in regular windows, Right?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

take ownership is available in both safe and normal mode, but you need admin rights.
office politics is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Thanx a lot guys.

It worked great. Actually normally I wasn't able to change any owners. I logged in safe mode and then it all worked. Copied all the files, recorded to cd. Formatted my C: disk, installed fresh XP and have activated it. Now it all works great.

Thanx a lot. It's great to have such pros like you guys. Thanx again.

Take care.
Mob1 is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

no problem
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

it would be less of a hassle to phone microsoft, they do have many phone numbers...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

if anybody is having troubles with activation...e-mail me at tall_dude123(at)hotmail.com and i will send you a file that kills the xp activation, so you dont have to activate.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.