backup software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2004, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default backup software

Used Drive Image on my old WIN 98 computer-worked like a charm. Tried it on New WIN XP computer- no good. Symantec suggested updating to version 7-same problem: It would say the back up was good but verifying said no good. Tried working with Symantec to no avail and then purchased True Image. Same problem: Says back up is successful but verification says "corrupted image." Sent Acronis 3 e-mails but getting nowhere.

Have tried everything: Checking RAM, and deleting all unnecessary programs (even virus protector), used Disk Cleanup, Chkdisk, and defrag on all hard drives-problem still exists.

Have 2 hard drives. Main drive is partitioned into two drives C and D both NFTS. C is my main drive containing the back up software; backup was to the D drive. Also have a second drive (G) which is in FAT 32 form but this should have no effect as it isn't being used in this situation.

I am confounded. Do I have a successful backup or a corrupted one.
Is this a software problem or a win XP problem? What can I do to get a proven backup BEFORE I really need it?
__________________

sipapu is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default Re: backup software

Quote:
Originally posted by sipapu
Used Drive Image on my old WIN 98 computer-worked like a charm. Tried it on New WIN XP computer- no good. Symantec suggested updating to version 7-same problem:
maybe I'm retarded, but isn't DriveImage made by partitionquest not symantec? have you tried norton Ghost? if nothing works that is telling you there is something wrong with the partition structure. I've run into a problem like this before. it was from me making an image on a 160GB hard disk and trying to restore it on a 120GB hard disk. so what is the size of the hard disk you made the image on and what is the size of the hard disk you want to restore it to?
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Never used them programs before but use Nortons ghost and works AOK with me on XP pro (NTFS)
The only difference I can think of between the 2 OS'es is that you must of been using FAT32 on your 98 system and now youre using NTFS. Maybe the problem originates around that area
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i think the filing system is not important because i beleive it will overwrite info to the partition table. anyways that would not explain the image check error.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default

The main hard disc is partitioned into segments of 58 GBytes each. I still cannot believe that the second drive (G) consisiting of 30 GBytes can be problem despite being FAT 32 for it doesn't (I believe enter into the picture when backing up the C to the D drive.

I know of Ghost (another Symantec product-this alone turns me a bit due to their nott being able to solve the probelm of Drive Image,also their other product )

By the way; Symantec has taken over Partition Quest.
sipapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.