Backup or Copy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Question Backup or Copy?

Hi everyone. I am a college student needing to interview an experienced computer owner. The only thing I need to know is the difference between copying and backing up files and which method is preferable for backing up large amounts of data, and why. Thank you in advance for your time.
__________________

Christina82 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Well the difference between the two is very slight, they are almost the same thing (from the computer's perspective).

For example, you have your Windows operating system CD that you just purchased for a hefty sum of $200.00 US. Obviously if that CD were to get damaged... you just lost $200 bucks... Not Good

What you could do is create a backup copy of your disk onto another CD. Now you have a backup (identical copy) of your OS Disk.

Copying would be making a copy of the backup.

This subject has allot of gray area, and definitions will vary but essentially, these are the basic differences of the two.


If your content is already on a computer, for instance a word document, you can create a copy of that file and save it onto a floppy or some sort of removable media. By making your copy.. you have just created your backup.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

or you can store lots of files in an image-file. I call it 'making a backup'

backing up in an image-file has the advantage of compression. you can compress the files to make the image smaller
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks! That helps alot. It's obvious, but hard to put into words for an essay Thank you very much for you fast reply!
Christina82 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Depends on how much you're backing up, too. If it's just a few pansy files, then a floppy will do (granted FDD don't totally disappear before you need it again).

If you have a medium amount of data, a CD will do.

If you have gigs worth of data, invest in a tape drive or even a raid setup.

For my main machine at work, I have a second machine that's setup as a backup-dump, and a third machine that's a carbon-copy backup of the second machine. Aside from flooding (on the fifth floor) or a fire, it's pretty sound.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

what's 'carbon-copy' ?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Well, this is actually an XP thing, i think. It is asking what is the best method to back up your entire hard disk.
Christina82 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Default

I am not quite sure what a system backup is...It is located on your hard drive, correct? If this is the case and the computer crashes, does this mean that the backup is still available on the computer? Or would it be better to have a 'hard' copy on disk?
Christina82 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I use DriveImage to make a backup of my entire drive. The drive where XP is installed. You can choose how much you want to compress it (high,low etc) and select a location to save it.

I save it to another hardrive, so if my XP craches I can restore the backup-file (image)

So if the first harddrive explodes I still have the backup of my enitire system (except files wich are located on other drives)
and I cn restore it on a new harddrive for example
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Okay, gotcha...
__________________

Christina82 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.