Backing up XP cd to a cd? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default Backing up XP cd to a cd?

Is it possible by just using Nero 5 Express?

I saw a "Copy Entire CD" option but it shows source drive and destination drive as the same thing. I only have 1 cd burner.

Whats the best way to do it? Do I have to put it on my hard drive first as an IMAGE file, then burn? How?

I'm doing this because I lost my XP cd once before and I had to buy a new one, dont want to have to do it again if it gets lost or scratched up
__________________

quiq is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

All you need is 1 drive it will copy it to the hard drive and then to the blank CD automatically for you.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

I would use Alcohol 120%. I'm pretty sure there's a trial version. Just use the image making wizard to capture an image of the disk, and then use the image burning wizard to burn the image to a blank disc
Shando is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

I tried Nero's "Copy Entire CD" It did make an image automatically and then asked me to insert a blank disc. Well I put in one of my regular 4.5gb dvd-r discs and it says it was not supported media or something like that. It also pulled up errors like "need volume xxxxXP"...."cancel/retry/continue/"

Not as easy as I thought. I'll look into Alcohol
quiq is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

I'm pretty sure for windows XP, you just need a standard 700mb CD-R
Shando is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

You may have gotten an error because you don't have a DVD burner.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 06:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

My burner does both, but I guess the windows xp cd is not compatible with a dvd disc? I will try a cd-r if I can find one
quiq is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default

Go to www.slysoft.com and d/l the trail of clonecd. That will work for you on a regular cdr
swtwc is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 05:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

ive used a CDRW before works fine, doesnt have to be a CD-R
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.