Backing up a fresh OS/HDD install to a DVD-R? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Backing up a fresh OS/HDD install to a DVD-R?

I'm curious, after you do a HDD format and reinstall your OS is it possible to do a complete HDD backup to a DVD-R? Even after I install my updated drivers and a couple apps I'm at like 3.5gbs, and it would be awesome to be able to backup the whole thing to a DVD-R and the next time I need to do a fresh format and OS install I could somehow use the DVD-R.

Is this possible? What software programs would be needed or used to backup the whole HDD and boot sector and then used to recopy it?

Sorry if this is a crazy question, I have no idea if it's possible...
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you will need to make an image using norton ghost to the dvd
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Ah, so it can be done? I have an old version of Norton Ghost that I used to make an image onto a 2nd HDD a couple years ago, but did not know it would work with a DVD-R.

I'm sure I can figure out how to use Norton Ghost to get the image onto a DVD-R, but how exactly do you go about the HDD format and getting the image back onto the drive?

Thanks!
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

boot from your xp cd...format it, install xp, install all programs, settings, etc, then make the image
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Oh, my apology, I meant how would I go about restoring the image? I try to reformat every 4 months or so, and I just did a clean install last week so I'll make the image now. Just curious to know how I would handle it when I'm ready to restore =)
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well you can boot from it or execute it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Ah, that would make sense. I guess I could boot from the DVD-R, format my HDD, then use Norton Ghost from the DVD-R to ghost the image over to the freshly formatted HDD.

Thanks Warez Monster =)
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Yup...you got it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.