Backing up again. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2005, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Question Backing up again.

Is there any way to fit my almost 32 gb harddrive on one-two disks? cause I want to back it up, because I may have to reinstall windows, (desktop icons and startbar not showing up).

Is there any way to compress the stuff, and fit it all on the disk(s)?
__________________

Bokuwakakera is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You want to back up 32gb of data on 2 cd-rws? There aint no way. You need to use a dvd
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Default

I have Dvd-r disks, can a Burn it all on one of thoughs?
Bokuwakakera is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You can compress it but it can compress to one dvd
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Default

what program can I use, or should I just copy and paste?
Bokuwakakera is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default

Seriously? 32 GB can be compressed to fit on a 4.7 GB DVD? How do you do that?
__________________
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Winzip it or winrar it. Those are two of the best in my opinion. Or just copy and paste like u said
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Default

so your saying if I copy and paste my 32 gb hard drive to a DVD-R disk, It will compress itself to fit?
Bokuwakakera is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

O no, I thought you were just saying, you need a utility to compress it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 05:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Default

what utility should I use?
__________________

Bokuwakakera is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.