backing up active directory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2008, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default backing up active directory

Is that 'system state' file is enough to back AD up using NTBACKUP ? Or do i need something more ? for example if all system fails and I reninstall OS, will 'system state' does it all to reincarnate old server ?
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 03:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: backing up active directory

Quote:
Originally Posted by linux1880 View Post
Is that 'system state' file is enough to back AD up using NTBACKUP ? Or do i need something more ? for example if all system fails and I reninstall OS, will 'system state' does it all to reincarnate old server ?
A system state and file restore plan is not enough with a box supporting your AD. Is this another machine bouncing off of your PDC? Worse yet, is this your PDC? I would most certainly have a fully imaged Backup snapshotted every 3 or 4 nights ready to boot and take over if thats the case.

In short....In my opinion, no. To go further, a box supporting AD needs a backup that it fully functional and ready to go. AD will be restored with a file and system state restore but any 3rd party app will be gone. Have you ever done a disaster recovery test? I work for a very large company and we plan for everything, so the experience may be a bit too much for a smaller company. Even still, when I worked for smaller companies with small scale PDCs or Exchange servers, I had a fully imaged backup ready to take over and be fully functional within 3 hours. I was always able to stick with an SLA of a 3 hour restore time too.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 05:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default Re: backing up active directory

What is the best way to make image ? Is there a free software to do this ?
linux1880 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 05:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: backing up active directory

MagicISO & WinISO spring to mind.
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: backing up active directory

You can back up by taking images using software. It can also be backed up using a feature of active directory. Emergency disk repair can also be used to backup.


Leo F. Swiontek
Leo F. Swiontek is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: backing up active directory

Norton Ghost makes back up images of your drive. Only backs up the space thats used, while Acronis also backs up the free space (which isn't needed).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: backing up active directory

you should also think about gettin' your AD into a VM.
Then all is what you have to do is shut down the VM, copy it tape or wherever you want and start it up again.
Then you have a 100% system backup that can be restored as fast as it can boot up.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to setup active desktop over Network ? linux1880 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 03-18-2008 11:53 AM
Active Desktop Recovery - On a limited account carnageX Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-15-2007 01:37 AM
active directory question davyo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 11-04-2007 12:22 PM
microsoft data acces, remote data svcs, active x wettie_21 Internet Software and Browsers 0 06-15-2007 02:26 AM
Start your Website Marketing campaign with this Lists Sief3r SEO and Web Traffic 1 05-22-2007 10:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.