Backing up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2006, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Question Backing up

Hi,
As my version of Windows is kind of screwed up i was wondering if there was a way to take an image of everything on my hdd, install a new copy of windows and then use the image to put everything back on.

Thanks
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The image would also take windows in its current state. So when you went to put the info back on you would get the corrupted windows as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

hmmm. i think i might hav to reinstall then cos for some reason i cant repair from xp cd
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

did you boot from CD during startup and try to select repair?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Backing up

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
Hi,
As my version of Windows is kind of screwed up i was wondering if there was a way to take an image of everything on my hdd, install a new copy of windows and then use the image to put everything back on.

Thanks
it would work on some programs but not all, its best to reinstall fresh and start over. every time you do this, you learn something new to make your pc better so this is a good thing
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
did you boot from CD during startup and try to select repair?
I went to install XP not go to recovery console. Got passed agreement blah blah and then where it would usually say at the bottom enter - install, r - repair, f3 - quit it didnt show repair.

@ warez monster before i reinstall ill wait for your reply to my other thread.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I replied
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.