background apps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2006, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Default background apps

I have an HP machine with a 3800+ AMD Athlon 64 and a 7800 GT vid card, along with 1 Gig RAM. However, I have about 40 background processes running AT BEST. If I really work at it I may be able to get it down to 35. But there are so many things running that I can't close because they are supposedly crucial system apps and I wonder if it's because of the whole Hewlett Packard thing.

Does anyone have any tips on this as I am under the impression that for best gaming performance I should have at highest 20-25 background apps going.
__________________

duckmoose is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

the only apps you need running is your antivirus and firewall if you have one....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Was it not clear that the majority of said apps cannot be closed by me? It says either that they are crucial to the computer running or that I don't have the authority to do so.
duckmoose is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

go to run -> type "msconfig", remove any unneccessary startup items, and reboot.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Actually, most of the items are not listed in the startup selection of msconfig, and after d/ling Enditall2 and looking at the descriptions for most of the processes that are un-endable, it appears that my Norton protection is accountable for a large swathe of them. Oh well.
duckmoose is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post a screen shot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.