Avi + Fullscreeen = No No - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 04:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default Avi + Fullscreeen = No No

ok iv had this problem for ages i cant watch movies full screen, wen the player opens defalt size its fine. but if i make it full screen or even just a bit bigger it goes all slow and the video scrwes up (im not just talking about the lower quality because of full screen)

now these movies work fine a slower machine i have full screen it just hates my PC, i have tried different reso and refresh rate with no luck.


Can you help?

thanks
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Default

What video card are you using. Is it fairly recent 4 yr old one or one reefed from a 7 year old computer? If it's a really old one it might need updated drivers or a different version of the drivers. I reninstalled win98 on someone's computer and had to go through 3 sets of drivers to get a trident video card (very grainy display but it was still watchable) to play back divx avi's in full screen without displaying recoverable bsod errors. Otherwise your directx might need reinstalling.
Also what program are you using to play the avi files.
__________________

Tasslehoff is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 05:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default



Media player 9 & 10

DivX player 6 (the new one)

Media player 2

winamp
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

try adding 32mb of shared memory to it in your bios
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
try adding 32mb of shared memory to it in your bios

Cant do that
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What are the rest of your specs. That onboard should be enough. I would still buy a seperate video card though
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

p3 1ghz

256ram

i know the computer is capable because i run movies on 8mb and 16mb cards all the time. i think its fixable because they run fine small its just if i resize the player
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the onboard video card is not fast enough to resize the movies in real-time. you can upgrade the video card (even to, say a PCI FX-5200), or put up with it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

what player are you using btw?
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Redcoat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
the onboard video card is not fast enough to resize the movies in real-time. you can upgrade the video card (even to, say a PCI FX-5200), or put up with it
a 32mbit video card is more than enough to watch a movie/play game with a decent frame rate (25-30 frames per second).

How much memory is on this computer??? Try checking your system resources when you launch the video to full screen. Possible that you do not have enough memory?
__________________

__________________
Jonathan C.
Redcoat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.