Autorun CD menu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2008, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Question Autorun CD menu?

I have a friend who says that the "copy CD" function has disappeared from his menu that appears after insertion of a CD, how can this be reinstated?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to PolishPaul Send a message via Yahoo to PolishPaul
Default Re: Autorun CD menu?

Which menu?
Inserting a blank CD?

Details. screen shot maybe?
__________________

PolishPaul is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 03:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Autorun CD menu?

Specifically the automatic menu that pops up after insertion of a music CD.
The two most likely things you are going to do are: Rip or Copy.
My friend advises that the copy option was there and has since disappeared, although he may be incorrect, as he isn't very IT literate, and hasn'y copied a CD for while.
Although I don't use the options on these menus, I have noticed that these menus change - I assume due to software installation/removal.
Anyway, if that option isn't there it should be, and how can it be added?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 04:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Autorun CD menu?

The easiest way to check this is to check the AutoPlay options. I dont remember them off hand in XP how to access tehm but in Vista it is under the Control Panel>HArdware&Sound>Play CD's Automatically. This allows you to choose the default action taken when inserting a CD/DVD. In XP i think you can jsut right click onthe CD/DVD Dive and it has a AutoPlay tab right there.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Autorun CD menu?

Thanks, yes it is possible to choose default, but why can't they be added to?
I mean, if a music CD is inserted, you are either going to play, rip or copy it!!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Autorun CD menu?

At that point choose WMP. Since it can do all 3 of those options.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firefox right click menu crippled raverx3m Internet Software and Browsers 1 12-11-2007 04:21 PM
Try my new JavaScript: Customize Dropdown Menu temp304 Web Graphics and Design 1 08-13-2007 05:24 PM
office 2003 menu bar Lorddarcek Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-05-2007 01:16 AM
Start menu doesn't "remember" in Vista kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 9 06-11-2007 11:57 PM
trying to help my dad.. now i need help spacetiger HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-03-2007 02:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.